Universities in India to offer Courses in 22 Regional Languages

Published 2 months ago by Kanika
2 min 26 sec Read
Universities in India to offer Courses in 22 Regional Languages
Photo for illustration purpose only. Image by goodtechgo.com

Government of India has been taking necessary steps to promote Regional Languages in India for Higher Education. The information has been released by Mr. Ramesh Pokhriyal, Union Minister of Human Resources, in a written reply at the Lok Sabha. The University Textbooks has been sent out to be published in all 22 languages of Eighth Schedule of the constitution under the Government of India.

These books have been granted permission for the publication in about 11 languages until now by the Commission for Scientific and Technical Terminology (CSTT). They are Tamil, Telugu, Punjabi, Assamese, Malayalam, Hindi, Kannada, Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi and Oriya. Still, the other half is yet to be worked on and it can be expected soon in the coming days.

Also, the University Grants Commission (UGC) supports nine central Universities under the "Establishment of Centre for Endangered Languages in Central Universities" Scheme to bring these regional languages to their Higher Education courses.

The Central Institute of Regional languages (CIIL) at Mysore helps in evolving and implementing the language policy of the Government of India. They have implemented the National Transmission Mission under which the books provided at the various Universities and colleges must be translated to all the Regional Languages.

Apart from these, there are certain steps that have been in particular taken for the promotion of Sanskrit language all over the country. Let us look at some of those steps.

  1. 16 Senior Scholars and 5 young scholars are awarded Presidential honor for the Sanskrit Language and their contribution towards it.
  2. Sanskrit Pathshala students have been awarded Merit Scholarships to college level.
  3. Financial Assitance has been provided for the publication and reprint of the rare Sanskrit Books.
  4. IIT, Ayurveda Institutions, Modern colleges, and Universities have been following certain programs namely Non-Formal Sanskrit Education (NFSE) where the Sanskrit Language is being taught by Non- formal learning centers.
  5. Adarsh Sanskrit Mahavidyalayas/Shodha Sansthan has been provided financial assistance by the government to encourage and promote the Sanskrit Language through these institutions.
  6. A combination of 18 Projects named Ashtaadashi has been implemented for the growth of Sanskrit Language in our country.
  7. There are numerous NGO's and Higher Educational Institutions for Sanskrit that have been provided with necessary financial assistance for various Research purposes.
  8. Retired Sanskrit Scholars have become a part of the Shashtra Chudamani Scheme for teaching.

According to the Union Minister, in the coming years, the Government will be looking to establish "Bhasha Bhawan", a building where Institutes that promotes various Languages will be coming together under one roof and work together.

All the information have been released at the Lok Sabha with the objective of making progress in bringing the 22 languages to every School and Institution in the days to come.

We would love to hear your opinion and views on this in the comments below.

Source: PIB

UGC Students IIT University Colleges Policy
Add Your Comment - Guidelines
You can express your opinion or reaction in the form below!

100 characters required


Be the first one to comment!

You may also want to read:

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing. - Socrates
September 19th, 2019 - Thursday

Sign in to continue