iCBSE.com will not be updated for some time, meanwhile visit cbse.nic.in
bullet CBSE > > Framework

National Vocational Qualification Framework (NVEQF)

NVQ in India

Courses, Training and Levels in Health, Management, Retail and IT

If, there is an authorized government organization, offering work related degree courses and certificate programs in order to enhance the skills at work, who else wouldn’t be using it?

The NVEQF is a framework to monitor, manage creating the curriculum for Vocational Education in India. Currently the Vocational Training is provided in some courses like Automobile, IT, ITES and Telecom Industry.

In general the NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) are work based courses/awards designed to enhance the skills of people at work. These courses are based on the competency level of participants and hence, the participants should prove their talents at work. This is accomplished by the UK government and it is practiced in EnglandWales and Northern Ireland. These courses are designed based on the ‘National Occupational Standards’ which describe the quality standards and requirement standards that are expected out of a job.

Different qualifications are divided into different levels, according to three important frameworks namely, the National Qualification Framework (NQF), the Qualification and Credit Framework(QCF) and last, but not least, the Framework for Higher Education qualifications. It might be little bewildering, but if you go through the levels, and then you would understand that the levels are developed for different cadres of people, according to their qualifications. The qualifications also differ according to the frameworks, hence the NQF and the QCF bear different qualifications, and not a big difference, but a slight variation exists in the certificate and the diploma programs of the frameworks. This makes a person to choose the appropriate level of diploma/degree/certificate courses, thereby enhancing their knowledge. The levels are portrayed as follows:

Entry Level

This comprises of foundation courses and functional skills, like Math, English, ICT, etc… all at entry level. It also consists of entry level certificate programs of spoken English.

Level 1

This comprises of the life skills programs and introductory diploma degrees and certificate programs. It also consists of other key skills programs, according to the standards of the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE).

Level 2

It more, or less resembles the level 1 programs, but the complex level is little higher and the standards are also kept higher, than the level 1 programs.

Level 3

It involves the higher education programs that too focused on the applied subjects listed by the NVQ. It is also known for its ‘International Baccalaureate‘ programs, besides providing other programs, such as national level programs, certificate programs and diploma degrees.

Level 4

It consists of the programs providing the certificates of higher education and higher national certificates. It also includes the vocational education programs, such as, media, health & social care, business, art & design, etc…

Level 5

It offers programs involving, diplomas of higher education, foundation degrees and higher national diplomas.

Level 6

It offers advanced diploma degrees and certificate programs in the areas of sports, art & design, information technology, etc… It is also known for its programs of national diploma degrees in theprofessional production skills cadre. It doesn’t stop with this, it also offers bachelor degreeprograms with honors, graduate certificate and diploma degree courses and also offers a professional graduate certificate in education.

Level 7

It offers masters degree courses and also integrated master degree programs, besides the postgraduate certificate and diploma programs. It provides a diploma degree course in translation.

Level 8

This consists of doctoral degree programs. It also offers specialist awards, certificates and diploma degrees in the strategic direction.