iCBSE.com will not be updated for some time, meanwhile visit cbse.nic.in
bullet CBSE > > Eligibility

JEE Advanced Eligibility

Candidates who wish to write JEE (Advanced) must write Paper – I of JEE (Main) in the month of April. Only top 1,50,000 candidates (including all categories) who qualify in Paper – I of JEE (Main) will be eligible to appear for JEE (Advanced).

Distribution of top 1,50,000 candidates across various categories is as follows:

  • Top 75750 (50.5 %) Common Merit List
  • Top 40500 (27%) Other Backward Classes-Non creamy layer OBC (NCL)
  •  Top 22500 (15 %) Scheduled Caste (SC)
  • Top 11250 (7.5 %) Scheduled Tribe (ST)

3% of the total candidates in each category are reserved for PD candidates as per GoI norms.

The minimum academic qualification for appearing in JEE (Advanced) – 2013 is that the candidate must have passed in final examination of Class 12th or other qualifying examination. Those appearing in these examinations in 2013 can also appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2013 provisionally.

Admission to IITs and ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE (Advanced) – 2013, subject to the condition that such candidates are in the top 20 percentile of successful candidates of their Boards in respective categories.

For candidates who passed their Board examination for the first time in 2012, the eligibility criteria for admission to any of the IITs or ISM Dhanbad is 60% marks (55% marks for SC/ST/PD) in their 12th Standard or equivalent qualifying examination.

In case a Board does not provide the information regarding the cut-off for top 20 percentile of successful candidates, the candidate will have to produce a certificate from the concerned Board stating that he/she falls within the top 20 percentile. In case the percentile score is not available from any testing agency, the CBSE cut-off score for top 20 percentile for the student’s category will be used.

If the candidate fails to do so, then the CBSE percentile will be used as the criteria for deciding minimum percentage of marks in the qualifying examination.

If any Board awards only letter grades without providing an equivalent percentage of marks on the grade sheet, the candidate should obtain a certificate from the Board specifying the equivalent marks, and submit it at the time of counselling. In case such a certificate is not provided the decision taken by the Joint Implementation Committee (JIC) of JEE (Advanced) – 2013 will be final.

A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years irrespective of whether or not he/she passed the Qualifying Examination. Those who have attempted JEE in 2011 or earlier are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2013. 

Candidates who have taken admission (irrespective of whether or not they continued in any of the programmes) or accepted the admission by paying the registration fee at any of the IITs, IT-BHU Varanasi or ISM Dhanbad, are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2013.